This topic contains 5 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Veronica Veronica 2 years, 4 months ago.

• Author

Joan Fitz
    Participant

Can anyone here comment on Zero Carb diets? I mean no veggies at all? It doesn’t sound healthy.
    I am following a group on Facebook that follows a zero carb diet. I have very high cholesterol naturally (it’s over 300) and they say it’s better to eat high fat meats. I am struggling with this and wanted to ask the opinion of others who might have tried it, or professionals (dieticians, doctors, nutritionists).

Thanks, Joanie

🙂

Veronica
    Veronica
    Keymaster

Hi Joan!

I am not a doctor but I am certified in Nutritional Therapy and I have been on a low carb high fat diet for over a year. I believe in a low carb lifestyle and I believe in a high fat diet after much research and personal success. As well, I have overseen hundreds of people eating this way now.

However…for complete health I would never suggest a zero carb or no carb diet. I don’t mean to discredit another person’s or groups’ work, but I would deter you from following that protocol – especially long term!

Putting weight loss and metabolism aside for a moment, we have to look at the big picture of health here. The prevalence of cancer in our countries is far too great and the nutrition of our foods (even our whole natural foods) has been degraded. Add to this equation our genetics, environmental toxins and the way we feed our farm animals – ARGH! Without the natural ‘cleaners’ and anti-oxidants of vegetables, we put ourselves at great risk.

I’m so sorry. I don’t mean to scare you or discredit another person but I have to give you my honest answer – woman to woman, friend to friend.

Joan Fitz
    Participant

I understand, thank you. Do you believe in low fat then?

Veronica
    Veronica
    Keymaster