This topic contains 6 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Laura Childs 2 years, 7 months ago.

• Author

Sue Franklin
    Participant

What kind of sugar substitute do you use? (I’ve never used any before.) And is Stevia in the Raw a good choice for a substitute? I just recently read an article about Truvia and all of the side effects it’s having on people so I’m not wanting to introduce that to my family. Any ideas on what I can use? I’m dying to try the scone recipe from the Low Carb High Fat diet book!

Veronica
    Veronica
    Keymaster

Hi Sue!

In the beginning we used a liquid Stevia product that we picked up at our health food store. We later switched to BetterStevia Organic made by NOW Foods. They sell a variety of flavored and non-organic sweeteners and we were happy with the organic label.

In the last few months we’ve been buying the actual dried and ground stevia herb. (It is green though so it might look odd in the scones.) And, because our sweet tooth has diminished we sometimes use local honey or pure maple syrup if a recipe needs just a touch of sweetness. Doing so often feels safer than a processed sugar substitute (even stevia) even though cravings for sweet foods might return for a day after eating any type of sugar (natural or processed).

Sue Franklin
    Participant

So, could you use honey for the scones instead of the sugar substitute? We have honey that we’ve bought from our small local health food store that has been locally sourced from our immediate area. We use it to battle our allergies, but my husband and I have stayed away from it while starting the diet. What are the ramifications of re-introducing that type of sugar into our systems so early on?

Veronica
    Veronica
    Keymaster